e-learning

Course 2: Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

And let’s have another post today, because why the hell not. With a  course review.

Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones by Universiteit Leiden

1405591345skeleton3

This course was also on coursera.org

To be fair, almost all of my courses are from that site, mainly because I did not want to register on too many sites at the same time. But lately I have realized, that they are certain type of courses which are missing. And also, the lack of lecturer support on coursera is alarming.

About the course: you can get some information about the course itself by clicking here.

First, I must say, I absolutely loved it. It opens so many questions, and as I was a great fan of the Bones series, it was kind of obvious that I am going to take that course.

The structure of the course is very good, starts off with basics and builds it up into more complex. It also gives a lot of extra material for each week with a list of professional words used in the videos and sometimes extra links.

For this course I can say, even the audience was amazing. To complete every week, you had to submit an assignment, which was fun and interesting and the audience, fellow students were quite helpful. Everyone was trying their best to their knowledge and abilities and I think we graded each other quite fairly. I got less points on parts were I knew I was weaker, and got appreciated where I was stronger.

The main problem was the lack of support in the course. There was a lot of open questions, which was not clear, for certain questions, I had to use google a lot to fill in the gaps. Also one of the assignment material was faulty. When they converted it from .doc to .pdf, the pictures moved and therefore you could not answer at least 2 question due to the fact that you could not see the trait on the photos attached. It was quite disturbing.

Recommend: 4,5/5
Lectures: 4/5
Audience: 5/5

In general, that was one of my favourite course from all I took on coursera. I definitely recommend if someone is interested in osteoarcheology.

Leave a Reply

