e-learning · Uncategorized

Course 5: Understanding Plants – Part I: What a Plant Knows

Understanding Plants – Part I: What a Plant Knows by Tel Aviv University

397860-plant

More information about this course > click here <

I really loved this course. Even though for me it was quite a simple one, having botanical background and everything.

How the Professor explains and puts everything into context is amazing however. After the introduction video my main thought was, “That’s how teachers should teach!”. He makes everything more interesting than any teacher I have ever heard talking about plant physiology.

Each week ends with a quiz which is quite fortunate for me, as I am usually not performing well on the assignments. The quiz wasn’t easy, it needs attention while watching the videos and I recommend taking notes.

I give 3 for the audience. Luckily it is not necessary to interact with other participants. This is a biology-chemistry science course specifically made for beginners. Still, as always with science courses and lectures, peoples sign up specifically to question and argue, and especially to question the validity of information in the lectures.

So generally, I loved the concept and the idea, it was made nicely. What is still missing, it the same as almost every course on coursera, the teachers and educators are not participating, not answering question at all on the forum. Mentors replies, but I could be a mentor on the Osteoarcheology course and even though I loved the course, I am not sure that a couple of weeks online course makes me qualified answering questions about human anthropology. They might be expert on the topics, they might be just people who did a couple of weeks, quite light plant physiology course.

Recommend: 5/5
Lectures: 5/5
Audience: 3/5

Leave a Reply

